DIY Clutch Purse

So, as you all probably already know by now, my cousins wedding is next month. I have been trying to find a little purse, but finding a nice bright red purse is really hard! That’s when it hit me, I should just make my own!! Now of course, I’ve never made a purse or anything like that, but I just had to try. I found this amazing Tutorial on Pinterest and would like to share it with you all. This is the website where the tutorial can be found http://prudentbaby.com/2012/04/hot-mess/accessories-hot-mess/zipper-bow-clutch/ 

Some advice, make sure you have a ruler or something that can help you make straight lines. If you want the purse to turn out right, I strongly suggest that you make sure the lines are straight and that each piece is the right measurements. This will really help, because if they are correct, then when you are sewing you will be able to make the stitch closer to the edge. Here are the photo’s of my purse.

Image

Image

Now, if you’ve looked at the site, you will notice that my purse is opposite of what her purse is…. I kinda fudged up that part, but on the plus side… it really can go either way. Now I know you are thinking, Um this is not red….. you’re right! I decided to use left over fabric from my tinkerbell costume, so that I could figure out if I could even make this. I did not want to go out and buy the fabric and then have it not work out. Her steps are really easy to follow, for real!!! if you at least have a basic knowledge of sewing, this will be really good project for you… I think I was able to get this done in 3 hours.. Just to pre-warn you, you will need to iron a lot! so just keep that baby plugged in until you see that it is no longer needed. Also, don’t worry if your lines are not straight… it’s really not a big deal, as long as they aren’t like going in a wave. hahaha….. I can tell you that my lines are not perfect at all, and it wasn’t from lack of trying….

Now I want to talk about my sewing machine!! Before, I was borrowing from people I know…. now I have my own!! My mom got it for me as a gift and I LOVE IT!!!! After searching the internet and reading a crap ton of reviews, I decided on a Brother instead of a singer. My reasoning behind this is that a lot of the singers, even the expensive ones, were getting pretty bad reviews. Brother, on the other hand, was getting pretty good reviews… especially the one I got. This Brother only cost about 85 with Taxes from Walmart…. It was cheapest there…… It is called Brother JX2517….. I cannot tell you how excited I was to have it not jam!! My best friend had gotten a 300 dollar singer and it jammed when we were just doing a test piece! So when my Brother was so smooth, I was soooooo Happy!! It’s very user friendly and I think, so far, that it is a great sewing machine for a first timer. The plus side to it, is that it’s not as expensive as most and it works great…. Oh it is also light weight, which makes it really easy to move.

But that is all for now, hopefully this helps someone out there…. if not, it’s also something fun to do! Have an awesome night……. don’t be surprised if the next post is about Hogwarts……. 😉

Leave a Reply

